Wherever you may be in your career as a School Librarian, as a SLMS member you are eligible to apply for the annual awards to be presented at the SLMS conference in Buffalo in May 2011.  You may also nominate an administrator for one of the Administrator of the Year Awards. Application deadline is November 15.

All application/nomination criteria and forms are available online at:

For additional information contact Maxine Kamin, Awards Chairperson.

Maxine Kamin
113 Riverview
Port Ewen, NY 12466
Voice: 845‑ 383‑1334
Email: owls00@earthlink.net

See below for a synopsis of the awards.

Both the Beatrice E. Griggs Elementary Administrator’s Award and the
Secondary Administrator’s Award are awarded to building or district
administrators who have effectively supported the maintenance and improvement of a School
Library Media Program in NY State.

The following awards are presented to current members of SLMS/NYLA:

The SLMS/Gale Conference Award and the new SLMS/ML Associates Conference Award each provide $500 for a direct service school library media specialist to attend a full SLMS Conference, being held in early May 2011 in Buffalo.

The Laura Wedge Conference Award has been established this year to provide a veteran school library media specialist with the opportunity to attend a full SLMS Conference.

The SLMS/Follett Scholarship Award provides $750 for continuing education in the field of School Library Studies to a certified SLMS currently employed in NYS.

The Robert E. Barron Cultural Media Award provides $500 towards the purchase of humanistic non‑book materials to enrich the library collection.

The Beatrice E. Griggs Scholarship Award provides $1,000 plus SLMS conference registration for an individual currently enrolled in a program, including online programs outside of New York State, that leads to certification as a New York State school library media specialist.

The Carole A. Kearney Memorial Scholarship Awards provide $250 for a certified SLMS, employed in NYS, to attend the annual SLMS Leadership Retreat held the first week of August 2011.