For the full awards list click on the link below.

John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature:

“The One and Only Ivan,” written by Katherine Applegate, is the 2013 Newbery Medal winner. The book is published by HarperCollins Children’s Books, a division of HarperCollins Publishers.

One of the Newbery Honor books was “Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon” by Steve Sheinkin who will be our guest author at the Fall Into Books conference on October 17, 2013 at the Holiday Inn, Kingston.

Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished American picture book for children:

“This Is Not My Hat,” illustrated and written by Jon Klassen, is the 2013 Caldecott Medal winner. The book is published by Candlewick Press.

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults:

“In Darkness,” written by Nick Lake, is the 2013 Printz Award winner. The book is published by Bloomsbury Books for Young Readers.